Selenium, IE 11, and new windows don’t mix

There are tons of forum posts saying that popups don’t work with Selenium in Internet Explorer.

In my case, I am using Visual Studio 2015 to run Selenium tests on an ASP website. I have IE11 and was trying to run the Selenium test cases in Debug mode. The selenium command line window either crashes, or IE crashes. Anyways, the new window will not show up.

I tried installing the latest version of the Internet Explorer Driver Server (IEDriverServer.exe), which is 2.48.0. I installed a 64bit version of it and was horrified to see the sendKey action takes 2-4 second between each character… I researched and it is a known problem with 64bit driver, with explanation. I switched to 32bit and problem seems to go away. I had to close all IE windows, clean project, restart visual studio to take effect.

I tried changing registry as described in https://code.google.com/p/selenium/wiki/InternetExplorerDriver but it did NOT work for me. With “TabProcGrowth = 0 ” I sometimes still get that horrible slow keystroke problem.

My Final Solution

I verified that the popup test is working on my coworker’s machine. He had IE10.

So I downgraded to IE10 from IE11

After a few reboots, I RUN the tests instead of Debug

windows pop up now, Selenium able to switch windows!

I spent half a day troubleshooting… so I will let my tests pass now. I won’t force it to work with Debug mode.

Leave a Reply

